PDA

View Full Version : Did all the $$$$ beach replenishment get washed out

SharkHart
10-03-2015, 08:39 PM
If anyone can get pics of jetty country in the next few days when the water recedes will be interesting, i am thinking mother nature had a BIG opening round for taking back that sand.

fishinmission78
10-03-2015, 11:14 PM
No pics that far north but can tell you the area from point all the way to island beach got hammered. In brick the metal sea wall that was supposed to hold off erosion got exposed. I'm no engineer so I cant say for sure. Still I can estimate that at least 20 million in sand is missing in that area alone. Who knows how much got carved out of jetty country- 50 million? 100 million?

bababooey
10-03-2015, 11:20 PM
Job security for ACOE:2flip:

finchaser
10-04-2015, 09:02 AM
sure did all Brick and bay head beaches are closed because they don't exist any more , water also breached in Ortley Beach

http://brick.shorebeat.com/2015/10/video-waves-smashing-against-bricks-sea-wall-10-feet-of-sand-eroded/

clamchucker
10-04-2015, 06:29 PM
I drove along the ocean county waters today. It is disheartening to see how much sand has been washed away. It is also criminal to think of how much money has been spent and wasted. It is time to look at other solutions. If the property owners don't want dune systems they should be forced to form their own insurance pools to pay for storm damages. The town of ocean beach is a little hamlet. It is much smaller and poorer than many of the other towns. They don't have nearly the damage their neighbors to the north or south have. All this from building a few dunes and planting dune grasses every year. Something has to change. What they are doing now is not working.

Blazin420
10-05-2015, 07:00 AM