PDA

View Full Version : Surf fishing, increasing the skill level

Monty
12-07-2008, 08:50 PM
I have been fishing for 40 years.
Large mouth bass then trout (fly fishing) and then Surf Fishing.
The more experience you get in the type of fishing you are doing the better at it you should become.
But if you are serious about it, really enjoy getting better at catching fish, I believe you must make an effort to learn from the time spent on the water, not just putting the time in.
This year I believe I took a few steps forward, increased my surfishing skills:

Quick history, I surf fished lets say from 94-98, about 20 times per year.
Started again last year. So this year and last 1x per week since April except in September and November a little more (mostly in mornings (an hour before sunrise and then another 3-5 hours).
I fish plugs (pencils, metal lips, metals and teasers).
Last year and this year until August most fish (blues and bass) on teaser and pencil.
Mostly blues.
Used RMs, Basswoods and many of the name “custom” metal lips but not much success, hence no confidence (not the plug builder, clearly I was inept).
Started chatting with R-P (Rip Plugger) in June and in August got my hands on a few of his plugs. All this time chit-chatting on fishing.