PDA

View Full Version : Dumbest rookie mistakes

stripercrazy
04-02-2008, 06:07 PM
None of us was born with a VS in our hands, we all had to learn one way or another. My dumbest mistake when I first started was getting too close to other guys fishing. I just didn't know, had no one to teach me. http://www.stripersandanglers.com/images/icons/icon11.gif Took a while before I figured out their angry looks were intended for me. I wish they would have just said something, I would rather get yelled at than look like an idiot. :confused:

clamchucker
04-03-2008, 03:47 PM
It's been a long time since I was a rookie, but I remember when I was just learning, I would throw bait, and it would fall off the hook all the time. Guys didn't help you much back then, if they saw you doing something like that, they would just ignore you. I finally figured out to wrap some string, dental floss, or small elastic, or wife's cut up pantyhose strips around the clam. It did take me awhile to learn this. That's why I try to help the new guys when I can.

CharlieTuna
04-03-2008, 04:45 PM
Don't know if I would call it a rookie mistake or stupidity. When I first started fishing eels, a few of them sloshed out and got loose in the wife's car, wasn't paying attention to the count.

When she got in the car one day and found a live one near her seat, I was in the doghouse. no sex for a week.

dogfish
04-04-2008, 03:04 PM
First time I got in a kayak, I didn't know about the rule to have everything tied down or secured. Lost a nice pole in the river that day, lesson learned. :(

stormchaser
04-04-2008, 05:48 PM
When I first started throwing plugs attached to mono, I lost quite a few plugts and metals because I sucked in my knot tying skills. I hignly recommend anyone who is serious about surfcasting learn to use at least a handful of different knots.

fishlipper
04-04-2008, 06:02 PM