PDA

View Full Version : How hard are you willing to work, to learn....

DarkSkies
12-08-2009, 10:24 PM
about surf fishing?

What does "Paying your dues, putting your time in" mean to you? :learn:

How much effort will you put into it? :plastered:

How much is too much? :huh:

How many times are you willing to get blanked to learn some hard but valuable lessons? :(

How far are you willing to walk in one night? :don't know why:

How many times will you move to find the fish if the time and tide is right and they just ain't there?

DarkSkies
12-08-2009, 10:45 PM
Dunkin donuts!

How could that be an inspiration for a thread on surf fishin, Dark, you might ask? :kooky: :don't know why:

I'm a student of human behavior. I like to watch people and learn from them, or what they do or don't do. After doing it for awhile, you become accustomed to meeting different categories of people, and it's kinda fun to see if your predictions will turn out right. It's like a chess game.

Here's the theory I challenged myself with today:

I was comin home from fishin, and passed a Dunkin donuts and a Wawa within 500 feet of each other. The Dunkin donuts had a line of cars waiting at the drive in, extending out onto the highway. :wow:

Meanwhile, both the Dunkin donuts and Wawa were kind of empty inside. What did that tell me?

I thought about it for a moment.

Could it be that people prefer Dunkin donuts coffee to Wawa's?
Maybe.
But these people were in a hurry to get to work. If so, why wouldn't the people get out of their cars, run into DD, get their coffee in 2 mins, and run out again and get on the road?

I counted 8 cars in the drivein line as I passed by. Assuming a minimum turnaround time of at least 1 1/2 minutes, no matter how fast the workers were (maybe more), you would be waiting at least 12 minutes in that line. :huh:

Yet you could have ran into and out of DD, and got back in your car in less than 3 minutes?

What is the hypothesis here?