PDA

View Full Version : teaser questions

porgy75
11-14-2010, 12:11 PM
Hey guys I am just getting into using teasers. I got 2 bass on the teaser this morning, and they didn't touch my metal at all. So I have just a few questions:

1. Do you buy your teaser rigs pre-made, or do you tie your own?
2. Do you like longer or shorter teasers for sand eels?
3. Do you tie a dropper loop, or tie a separate line to your swivel with the teaser? I saw guys doing this both ways this morning, and wondered which one is stronger? Thanks as usual for all the advice, guys!

CharlieTuna
11-14-2010, 12:54 PM
Porgy, I am old school, I prefer the dropper loop. You have to experiment with different teasers. If the fish are on small bait and the one you are using doesn't get bit within 10 minutes, you need to change for another style. There are times when unless you match the hatch quite specifically, they will not hit it. Keep changing your profiles that come close, you will know when you have hit it right.

vpass
11-14-2010, 01:39 PM
Porgy, I use a polmar knot for my leader to swivel connection. I do not cut off the tag end of that knot hanging off the swivel. that's where I connect my teasers to. As size of the teaser, last night the only hit I got were on a 4.5 inch teaser. 2 weeks ago it was on 2 1/2 inch. You got to know the size of your bait, either seeing them swim, or washing up on the beach. Also checking that keeper you take home by checking the stomach contents.

I gave up on dropper loops a long time ago. I lost many plugs because of them. The leader fails right at the dropper loop knot.

fishinmission78
11-14-2010, 02:17 PM
I tie my teasers to the swivel. I try to use the same # test or higher than the leader so it doesn't wrap around.