PDA

View Full Version : Frustrating wind

J Barbosa
03-23-2013, 11:31 PM
I am a newbie to fly fishing and I started with a TFO BVK 8wt. I really like it and have been spending a bunch of time after work learning the basics and improving my casting.

I really liked the first TFO rod so much when I came across a good deal on a TFO 5wt I rushed into it and purchased it.

It seems like the saying March Winds held true this year. Every time I went to practice the wind was blowing. It wasn't affecting my casting so much with the 8wt as I was getting use to it but with the 5wt I can barely cast 10 ft of line in the wind. I just don't feel the rod load the same way I do with the 8wt.

anyone have some suggestions?

vpass
03-24-2013, 01:49 AM
Hi J, :HappyWave: For the surf on windy days a 9wt or 10 wt is recommended. It takes years to learn to cast great on your own. to punch thru the wind you need to learn how to double haul, and get your timing right. 8wt is better for the bay, but i learned on a 7wt. cabela special. I now have TFO 10wt, 7wt and 3wt. I love TFO. I could meet up with you and give you some pointers, I wish i had someone to show me. it took me 3 years to figure out how to catch fish on a fly. now its easy. I'm here to help.

storminsteve
03-24-2013, 10:51 AM
Vpass thanks for sharing that. Had no idea you knew so much about fly fishing.

vpass
03-24-2013, 12:09 PM
Hi J, :HappyWave: For the surf on windy days a 9wt or 10 wt is recommended. It takes years to learn to cast great on your own. to punch thru the wind you need to learn how to double haul, and get your timing right. 8wt is better for the bay, but i learned on a 7wt. cabela special. I now have TFO 10wt, 7wt and 3wt. I love TFO. I could meet up with you and give you some pointers, I wish i had someone to show me. it took me 3 years to figure out how to catch fish on a fly. now it easy. I'm here to help.