Thread: How do you become a better fisherman?

Default How do you become a better fisherman?

I hope you don't think this is a stuped question, guys. I have been fishing about once a week for a few years, mostly clam and bunker, and I have caught some striped bass and bluefish, but nothing really big like that 56lb striper. I also throw plugs, like poppers and bombers, and metal, and read and try to imitate what guys who are catching are doing.

I know you need to learn to read the water, and stuff like that, and pay attention to the bait. I am trying but the skunk follows me home a lot.

Wondering if any of you guys out there who have experience catching fish would be willing to share some of what has made you a better angler.

I have gotten a lot of helpful info here before, and appreciate all the advice, even if I haven't personally thanked all those guys who helped me. So I'm thanking you agan, in advance, for any advice you can give to point me in the right direction.

put in yur time dude there are days when none of us can catch fish, u also have to fish when their feeding and that to me means night and before the sun comes up.

Hi baitstealer I learned a lot from the guys on this site too. What I learned is to pay attention to the guys who you see catching fish. What are they doing differently that you aren't?

Also sometimes it's the little things, like a little difference in technique or retrieve. A teaser can be very important when there is small bait around.

One of the guys here who seems to always use a teaser is Monty, and I believe he catches more fish with them. PM him if you have priveleges, he gave me some great advice that helped. Finchaser knows a lot too, and his advice has helped me to make less mistakes.